Ethical concept-Rit and Rin, concept of Duties

Ethical concept-Rit and Rin, concept of Duties


Rita, (“truth” or “order”), in Indian religion and philosophy, the cosmic order mentioned in the Vedas, the ancient sacred scriptures of India. As Hinduism developed from the ancient Vedic religion, the concept of rita led to the doctrines of dharma (duty) and karma (accumulated effects of good and bad actions). Rita is the physical order of the universe, the order of the sacrifice, and the moral law of the world. Because of rita, the sun and moon pursue their daily journeys across the sky, and the seasons proceed in regular movement. Vedic religion features the belief that rita was guarded by Varuna, the god-sovereign, who was assisted by Mitra, the god of honour, and that the proper performance of sacrifices to the gods was necessary to guarantee its continuance. Violation (anrita) of the established order by incorrect or improper behaviour, even if unintentional, constituted sin and required careful expiation.


The purpose of purusharthas is to ensure that people would not neglect their obligatory duties by becoming obsessed with particular desires that may lead to moral and social degeneration and destruction of values. To further ensure a stable social framework, Hinduism introduces the concept of debts.

According to the Taittiriya Sanhita (, a child is born with three debts to repay in his (or her) lifetime.

Human beings get easy access to the objects created by God, hence they become indebted to the deities. This is called “Deva Rin (rin=debt)”. This debt must be repayed by performing various religious acts and worships (puja).

Human beings acquire the knowledge generated by the ancient sages and intellectuals. Thus humanity is indebted to them. This is called “Rishi Rin”. By studying and acquiring knowledge (and if possible adding matter to the existing knowledge), this debt can be repaid.

A person is indebted to his/her ancestors as they have propagated their lineage and are the cause for his/her birth. This is called “Pitri Rin”. To replay this debt, Hinduism advocated (righteous) procreation as well as performing rituals in rememberance of the ancestors.

Another ancient Hindu scripture, Shatpath Brahman (, added two more debts. According to this scripture:   “a person is indebted to humanity at large (called Nri Rin or Manushya-rin) which can be repaid by treating others with respect and helping them a person is indebted to plants, animals and nature (called Bhuta Rin). These debts are repaid by performing the five great sacrificial fires.

concept of Duties

Hinduism has defined four goals (aims) of human life which are called the four purusharthas (“purusha” means a human being or God, and “artha” means an object or objective. This “purushartha” means the objective/goal of a human being). These four goals create a stable social framework within which one can live peacefully and gradually evolve spiritually.

The first goal is Dharma. The root of the word dharma comes from dhri, which means to uphold or maintain. Dharma is defined in Sanskrit as “dharayati iti dharmaha”, meaning dharma is that which upholds. Again, it is said “dhriyate iti dharmaha”, thus meaning not only what is supported is dharma, but that which does the supporting is also dharma. So dharma consists of both the force that sustains as well as what is sustained. It can also be said that there is the path of dharma as well as its conclusion, the object of dharma, or what we are seeking, the goal of life. So dharma is the means as well as the goal. Dharma is the first human goal and forms the foundation for the pursuit of the other three goals. Dharmic actions are those individual, social, political, and professional actions which are based upon the four virtues – truth, ahimsã, morality and ethics.

The second goal is Artha. The Sanskrit word “artha” has several meanings. In the context of the four purusharthas, the word “artha” means material wealth (although in deeper spiritual interpretation of the four purusharthas, many wise sages have interpreted the word artha as “meaning/understanding of one’s existence”). Hinduism recognizes the importance of material wealth for the overall happiness and well being of an individual. While Hindu thinking advocates simple living, it does not glorify poverty, and does not consider wealth as a hurdle to self realization. It is greed and attachment to wealth that is considered a hurdle, not the wealth by itself. Thus “Artha” means to earn wealth in accordance with dharma.

The third goal is Kãma. There is a general misconception which associates the word Kãma with sexual desires. Kãma actually means all the physical, emotional, and intellectual desires of a person. In Hinduism and in Buddhism, desire has been considered to be the root cause of all sufferings. However, Hinduism acknowledges Kãma as a goal of human life and declares “he who performs his prescribed duties out of desire in the right manner will obtain the fulfillment of all the desires and reach the deathless state.”

The fourth and final goal is Moksha or liberation. Moksha denotes spiritual perfection, which, according to Hindu thinking, is attained automatically when one leads a life that is dedicated to dharma.

Final Destination for Haryana PSC Notes and Tests, Exclusive coverage of HPSC Prelims and Mains Syllabus, Dedicated Staff and guidence for HPSC Exams HPSC Notes brings Prelims and Mains programs for HPSC Prelims and HPSC Mains Exam preparation. Various Programs initiated by HPSC Notes are as follows:- For any doubt, Just leave us a Chat or Fill us a querry––

Hope we have satisfied your need for HPSC Prelims and Mains Preparation

Kindly review us to serve even better

HPSC Mains Test Series 2022

20 Quality mock tests and GS Mains Notes

Mains Test Series and Notes (With Evaluation and Skill Enhancement)

Mains Printed Notes (With COD)

Mains PDF Notes (Digital)

For Any Suggestion’s and Updates kindly Comments your doubts Here

Hope we have satisfied your need for HPSC Prelims and Mains Preparation

Kindly review us to serve even better

HPSC Mains Test Series 2020

20 Quality mock tests and GS Mains Notes

Mains Test Series and Notes

Mains Printed Notes (With COD)

HPSC Prelims Test Series 2020

24 Quality mock tests and GS Prelims Notes

Prelims Test Series and Notes

Prelims Printed Notes (With COD)

Subscribe to HPSC Notes

Never Miss any HPSC important update!

Join 2,125 other subscribers